7 Habits of Highly Effective People Refresher…

April 25, 2011

Leadership and Management books come and go, and after 22 years since it first saw the light, this book never seizes to amaze me. This past long weekend I was doing some spring cleaning, and in one of the many boxes full of books I stumbled into this treasure. I flipped through my own notes and all the things that I wrote back in 1996 when I first read the book have happened.

Wow! And I thought I had deviated from my course; maybe a few degrees, but still on the same path. For those who haven’t had the pleasure of reading this book, these are the seven habits

Habits 1, 2 & 3 are about knowing yourself and reaching independence; once you master these habits you’ll have what Covey describes as “Private Victory”

Habit 1: Be Proactive…Taking responsibility for your choices and the next consequences that follow, don’t wait until things happen. Make them happen!

Habit 2: Begin with the End in Mind…Clarify your personal values and life goals, and think of the path you need to take to make your vision a reality, if you don’t know where you’re going…How do you know you got there?

Habit 3: Put First Things first…If you don’t prioritize everything will become urgent.

Habits 4, 5, & 6 are about you working with others, once you mastered these three you’ll will be interdependent and achieve “Public Victory”

Habit 4: Think Win-Win…This concept is clear to anyone by now. Mutual beneficial outcome is way better than personal benefit.

Habit 5: Seek First to Understand, then to be understood…Put yourself in the other person’s position and understand their motives. Have an open mind, this will create empathy and it’s extremely useful in solving conflict.

Habit 6: Synergize…The sum of all parts is more than each individual component. Or in simpler words: Teamwork.

The last habit relates to self-renewal

Habit 7: Sharpen the Saw…Keep yourself in balance, health, family, study new skills, keep up to date in topics of your interest, seek feedback and act upon it.

In this diagram it’s easier to see how all 7 habits are related.

I guess I have sharpened my saw the past year with the completion of my MBA, and I’m now back at the endless cycle of continual renewal. If you haven’t read the book, it will be worth it. Sometimes an old dog can learn new tricks. Trust me, it’s true.

Until next time…Cheers

Carlos

One Response to “7 Habits of Highly Effective People Refresher…”

  1. [...] 7 Habits of Highly Effective People Refresher… (carlosandressanchez.wordpress.com) [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

