5 Why Technique for Parenthood

March 31, 2011

Why is it that our kids believe their teachers more than us their parents? I’ve struggled with this fact since my daughter started school. Every time I tried to explain a concept to her; I got the usual reply: “My teacher told me this is the way to solve it” and that was pretty much the end of that discussion, I didn’t know what to do, except trusting that her teacher wasn’t teaching the kids how to make home-made napalm.

This year I had my Eureka moment when I started using one quality tool called “The 5 Why Technique”, this tool was designed by the Japanese to find the cause of a problem. But it also works wonders when you are trying to make a 12-year-old girl understand that buying a pair of $65 cut off shorts in Abercrombie & Fitch doesn’t make economic sense when she could buy 3 T-shirts from the same store for $66 and cut a pair of worn Abercrombie jeans and have the same short for free. All I did was ask Why, and she figured out by herself that she was better off with other options.

Cheers.

Carlos

Beware: Don’t use this technique on grown women, girlfriends, wives, sisters, cousins, etc. since there is no way known to men, that could explain that a $1800 Louis Vuitton handbag is not a sound investment.

One Response to “5 Why Technique for Parenthood”

  1. Carlos, only women can understand the value of investing in high end accessories!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

